Browse By

Pirates Steal the Win from Samurais in MIT-CL Finals

The Pirates triumphed over the Samurais to emerge victorious in the third season of the MIT Sports Club’s Cricket League at the Cricket Ground on Sunday. Despite being a low scoring affair, the final turned out to be an absolute thriller. The Pirates won by just one wicket and three balls to spare, as they chased down a meagre 93 runs. Although the Samurais bowlers made up for the team’s poor performance with the bat, their efforts did not help them cross the line.

Trophies for the winning team and the runners-up

After winning the toss, the Samurais elected to bat first. Anant got two early breakthroughs for the Pirates, and the rest of the bowlers did not fail to capitalise on the excellent start. They continued to mount pressure on the Samurais batsmen with disciplined spells. Consequently, just three Samurais batsmen managed to cross the ten-run mark.
Striking thrice and conceding a measly 14 runs off his four overs, Raja secured the best bowling figures for the Pirates. Sushruth Devasthali also got three dismissals to his name while giving away just 20 runs. As a result of the Pirates’ brilliant bowling performance, the Samurais batsmen never really got going and could only manage to put up a mere 92 runs on the board.
Vishal and Atharva opened the bowling for the Samurais and bowled four terrific overs striking thrice while giving away just 14 runs. Aakash lost his wicket in the second over owing to a brilliant catch by Amritanshu. Just when it seemed the start could not have been any worse for the Pirates, Atharva took two wickets in a row dismissing Amogh and Akshay. 
In spite of the bumpy start, the Pirates kept the scorecard ticking and added 61 runs in 13 overs. Anot Ambrose Disilva’s innings down the order was decisive in shaping the outcome of the match as he scored an unbeaten 17 runs off just 15 deliveries. Furthermore, he also scored the winning runs for his team as he finished things off in style with a maximum, leaving the Samurais as runners-up for the second year running.

Final scores

Join the official Facebook Freshers' group!Join
+ +